Georgia courts can impose various penalties for offenders convicted of driving under the influence. Consequences can include license suspension, fines and potentially jail time.
Review the penalties for a DUI in Georgia before facing a court date for this type of arrest.
The minimum fine for a first-time DUI in Georgia is $300, which doubles to a minimum of $600 for a second offense within five years of the first. However, the judge can order a fine of up to $1,000. For a third offense, fines start at $1,000 and max out at up to $5,000.
If you have a first-time DUI, the judge can order a minimum of 40 hours of community service. A second or third offense within five years of the first carries a minimum of 30 days of community service.
Georgia may suspend your driver’s license for up to 12 months for the first offense. A second conviction can result in a license suspension of three years, which can extend up to five years for a third offense in the same period.
Judges in Georgia may order up to one year of jail time for a first-time DUI. A second offense has a mandatory minimum of 48 hours and up to one year in jail. The mandatory minimum increases to 15 days if you have a third offense in five years.
Beginning with the second offense, the court may order you to undergo a substance use disorder evaluation and treatment at your own expense. You may also have the opportunity to pursue treatment if you have a nonviolent substance-related offense such as a DUI.